Ode to My Family

My lovely girl authored this. 

Ode to my family:

This is what they told us. This is what they said.

He/She was such a great person. Remember that time this & that happened? Man we had some laughs. He/She would give you the shirt off there back. He/She was so caring. Thanks for being there for me he/she. Oh man the great memories. That one time…..oh what I wouldn’t do to have one more minute with him/her. My heart is so heavy. They left the world to soon. Oh god, I’m so glad we got to know each other, that they were there for me, that they helped shape who I am, that they taught me life lessons, that they picked me up when I fell, that they raised me, that we were a family, that you held my hand, that you hugged me, that you stuck by my side, that you loved me, that you wiped away my tears, that you were the man/woman I wanted to be.You were the best friend,mother, uncle, brother, grandparent, neighbor, long lost friend that anyone could of ever asked for.Thanks for loving us, you truly will be missed.

What we say:

Thanks for nothing. Thanks for walking out on me. I was a kid. Where did you go? Where were you? You missed everything. The memories we created that I remember are all dark, sad and hurtful. I laughed one time. I cried a million. You were no father/mother figure in my life. You left. Somehow it was fault. You blame me. You blame the other parent who stuck it out and raised me. You say they talked badly about you, but your wrong. Everything negative we thought about you, was because of you. Thanks for leaving me with strangers. Thanks for giving my shit away. Thanks for showing me that abandonment is indeed something people do to there children. Thanks for loving other people more than me. Thanks for showing them your love. Thanks for creating joyful memories with everyone else but me. Thanks for finding time in your busy schedule to not bother with me. Thanks for the hurt that you left behind. Thanks for using your addiction, your past as a crutch therefore not allowing me to blame you, so they say. Thanks for being proud of me, oh wait, I wouldn’t know.Thanks for every fantastic thing you have ever done, oh wait, you haven’t done any. Thanks for letting family and friends think you were such a great man/woman and never revealing how you were towards me. Thanks for making your son/daughter look like the bad guy when all we ever were, were just some kids left behind. But thanks for favoring everyone else over us.Thanks for leaving me behind with no apologies and no closure and thanks for leaving with unanswered questions. Thanks for not fighting to see me, thanks for not calling me, thanks for giving up on me, on us. Thanks for thinking of me on your last days, shit, you didn’t. Thanks for the emptiness you left inside me.Thanks for loving me, oh wait, shit you didn’t do that either. I guess we have no thanks to give to you after all.

But wait, RIP and you truly will be missed, not by me.

Leave a comment