Thanks for the Lesson…

So I’ve had Gastric Bypass, no big secret, no big deal. To qualify for this surgery I had to take classes, I had to learn what I was getting myself into, learn how to live with this. The weird thing is A LOT and I mean A LOT of people tell me what I should or shouldn’t be eating now. I think to myself, where the fuck were you when I was morbidly obese and was dying? You weren’t “just trying to be helpful” then. Now that I see some success you tell me what I should and shouldn’t eat? The truth is you didn’t take the same classes as me, you have no idea what I should and should not eat. Yeah that protein bar I just ate does have 390 calories, but it also has 30 grams of protein that a very much need……it’s also an ENTIRE meal for me. “Hey, don’t eat that prepared meal, it’s not good for you”. Again, you’re right, it’s not the best thing for me, but I know how many calories are in it, I know it won’t make me sick and I know it’s an entire meal. I can’t eat a fresh home cooked meal all the time. It’s better than what I use to eat and WAY better than some of the other options I have.

Where were all these experts on weight loss and healthy eating when I actually needed the help?

3 comments

  1. AtomicMelanie · November 16, 2015

    Preach it! Getting a similar thing here. Nobody gave a shit when I was unhealthy, but now that I can do something about it, suddenly everybody is an expert, telling me all about this “dangerous,” “risky” procedure that I’m having. One person said I was “rolling the dice” on the easy way, instead of just going to weight watchers like they do (this person is obese, too). Whatever.

    Hang in there – you know what’s best for you! 🙂

    Like

    • the397 · November 16, 2015

      It’s weird, I find obese people to be the least supportive of my decision to have surgery. Maybe it’s jealousy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Courtney · November 19, 2015

        I’m an obese person who hasn’t had weight loss surgery, but I’ve contemplated it and studied it and came to the conclusion that it wasn’t for me at this time.

        I think the reason obese people, in general, are less supportive about weight loss surgery is because they do honestly think it is the easy way out and they are jealous you get to have it and they don’t. If they’d do a little research on it, they’d realize how dangerous the surgery can be and how difficult life can be post surgery. They think there is no work to it, but there is. You also tend to lose weight a lot faster because you’re so restricted, which means your skin isn’t given adequate time to adjust to the weight loss, resulting in sagging skin that can chafe and blister, etc. And there is absolutely no guarantee of long term weight loss, either. You still have to do the work and keep doing the work! The weight can always come back! There are more unsuccessful stories than there are success stories because human nature is to take the easy way out of everything, which means they stop working for it. Look at Carnie Wilson….she got small enough to pose for playboy and now she’s just as heavy as before the surgery. Weight loss surgery is not an answer, it is a tool. It is not the easy way out and if more people would research it, they’d realize that.

        Don’t let what others think and say bother you! You know what you’re doing. You know your program! Keep it up!

        Like

Leave a comment